Choose Your Crew – Better Get Kraken

Choose Your Crew: Pirates (Choose Your Crew: Pirates)

This little card game is a simple set collection type game.  You are trying to collect your full 16 member crew that goes from captain down to powder monkey.   The twist is that your opponents can steal the cards you have played in front of you.  They can do this playing either overboard cards in which case your card is inserted back in the deck or by using recruitment cards in which case they are placed in front of the player that stole them.  You can also trade with other players, the difference there being that the other players my lie to you about what cards they have and what cards they are giving you.  My family enjoyed this game because of its simplicity and quick game play.  With the simple rules and easy to understand strategy you can be playing this game minutes after opening the box.  This would fall in the category of filler game for most groups.

Suggested Movie: The Pirates of Penzance 

What Movie do you suggest?  Let me know in the comments below.

Basics:

Game Type:Card

Ages: 5 and up

Size: Tuck Box

Ratings:

Me – 7 (I’m happy to play this game with my family.  It doesn’t have a ton of depth but does result in some laughs and funny situations.)

My Wife – 8 (My wife enjoyed this game mostly because it was light.  It reduced her analysis paralysis and she just flowed with the game)

Daughter – 9 (My daughter thought the game was great.  It was simple and she understood all the tactics involved.  She may be a bit biased and she and her sister are in the game [see below].)

AVERAGE SCORE – 7

My Daughter Isa in Choose Your Crew

My Daughter Isa in Choose Your Crew

Mila is only 20 Months so she isn’t real impressed yet.

My daughter Mila in Choose your Crew

My daughter Mila in Choose your Crew

Isa holding her card on the first night we played the game

Isa holding her card on the first night we played the game

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply - I would enjoy your input

